Our Ghair-Shaista Harkat

Urdu.. Parsun(Hyderabadi Parsun) probably before Ramadan, I was watching Behadd,the Pakistani telefilm and was chatting with Falak, multitasking *cool glasses wala emoticon*. So yeah, the drama was a good one, nice one time watch I would say.No, this isn’t a review on it. So if you were looking for it I’m sorry 😦

There was a dialogue in it, I don’t remember the exact words, so ekscoooz me for the mistakes please. The scene was that Mo (Masooma-Nadia Jamil) is playingΒ  a match maker for Jo (Jamal-FAK). He is least bothered about it, she tell hims : sunday ko ache se tayyar hoke ajana meri taraf main tumhein SHAISTA se milwaani wali hoon (Yes there’s a reason for the caps) Jo gets infuriated and goes like: badi hi ghair-shaista harkat hai yeh. That made me laugh, like laugh hard were you rewind that part and play it again and again.

Don’t look at me like I’m a retard…I know it wasn’t funny but there’s a story behind the word/name “Shaista”. So I paused it and immediately messaged Falak on skype, and my friends, this friend of mine can be the biggest tubelight when she is not in a mood. So I text her lol-ing about that scene and she goes like heinn?? And then I had to explain the entire thing, which was like murdering the joke.

Now, since ur proly having a khoj/ khujli attack, being the desi that u are, wondering whats so funny about it? No, no don’t pressurize your brains that much, you won’t get it. I’ll tell u. We both love urdu and had our funny urdu moments learning it.

*rolling back to 2008*

So we are in Urdu class, our Sir is reading and explaining to us the chapter. Urdu was one of those classes, where you don’t pay attention, we would be sharing our stories or playing or snoozing. Plus that day, Urdu was after recess so we all were tired and most of the class was dozing off. Even we were almost there, when our teacher said “…… … shaista andaz mein”, and my friend here, with half open eyes looks towards me and goes like “shaista kaun?” (that was supposed to mean shaista matlab?that was her way of saying what does it mean) as we were sleepy it didn’t register in my head and I replied “Mere chachi”. :$ I was almost in my dream world toh when my brain processed the word “shaista”, instead of giving me the meaning of the word, it relayed me an image of a woman, my chachi, shaista. Hence the answer. At which she started guffawing which helped my brain register what had happened and I joined her. Our Sir looked questioningly at us and went like “Kaunsa lateefa hai bhai hum bhi suneingey”. That was his takya-kalaam.

Falak: and then the second part of the joke happened. After we managed to keep a straight face till he looked away, i think, i shamelessly whispered “Lateefa kaun?”Β  and we had a joke uspe bhi and that made us laugh harder and harder, and he (who was one of those teachers who just couldn’t be strict with the students now matter how hard he tried, God bless him) knew better than to grill us about it coz we were famous for our non-serious behaviour in Class, so he gave us a weird dirty look for our ghair-“shaista” harkat and went on.Β 

That was the joke of the day, we kept laughing like maniacs and repeated it again and again to our group of friends which made them join us as well. What can we say, we all are crazy. Such corny and lame things make us laugh. And those were the beautiful days when one little thing could set off a line of jokes and a round of laughing fits.Now, whenever we come across a name or a fancy word, in urdu, we go like kaun xyz? Then you have to crack your brain to remember if there’s anyone of that name.

If you are wondering why am I writing about it now. toh let me tell you, we had one of those moments again recently. I shared a faiz ahmed poem with Falak, “raat yun dil mein teri khoi hui yaad aayi” Instead of commenting on its beautiful verses
she replied : Kaun naseem? I was searching for its meaning as well, so i went like :umm I don’t know, looking for it wait.
Falak: Arey hauliiii, my aunty naseeem.
Me: LOL yeahhh how can I forgettt! btw naseem means breeze, so your aunty is thandi hawa ka jhonka tumhare uncle k liye. Yes we are corny and we are great at it, so we take pride in being lame and cornyy! *cool glasses wala emoticon again*

Β 

14 thoughts on “Our Ghair-Shaista Harkat

  1. Han tou bahar bhai larr rhay ammi mjhy bulati and mae ye post parh ke hansi nhi control kr pa rhi, tobah. LOL loved it, friends ke sath lame hony ka joy can not be compared to anything else πŸ˜‰ Enjoyed reading your teacher wali memories and all those jokes! Stay corny or wtv, Behadd was a fab drama!

  2. It is so much easier to laugh so carelessly and with full abandon with your friends when you’re so young. There’s this certain age when har baat pe hansi aati hai πŸ˜€

    But yeah, this was pretty funny. I had a good laugh, thank you for that πŸ™‚

    • Haan I know right. Back then everything used to be funny. Ah your words “there’s this certain age….” reminded me of Ghalib’s sher “Aati thi pehle haal-e-dil pe hansi
      Ab kisi baat par nahi aati”. Excuse the shair in me πŸ˜‰

      I am glad that it made you laugh, served the purpose. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for reading and leaving a kind comment. It means alot when it comes from you as you are our guru in the blogosphere. πŸ™‚

  3. Adaab Miss Maqsood! This incident that you’ve narrated here,I (weirdly) remember it very well cuz I happened to be in the same class. If I’m not wrong,it was Zia sir’s class. But anyway,I got introduced to your blog very recently and I must say,you both are girls after my heart. I totally identify with your musings and would love to get in touch. Looking forward to speaking with you.

    • Adaaab Urooj Fatima πŸ™‚
      Haha who else Zia Sir, May Allah bless him :). Your name rings a bell..aah I remember your friends circle. Haha apne dil ku sambhalo bibi yahan wahan chale jaara:P
      Glad you could connect with our musings πŸ™‚
      Feels great to have someone from school recognize us πŸ™‚ we would love to get in touch with u as well. Lets search for each other on facebook then πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

