Javed Ke Naam

For the past few hours, one thing that is on loop in my mind is “dayar-e-ishq mein apna maqam paida kar”. I order my brain to recall the formulae and the response I  get is “dayar-e-ishq…”, I order it to ratafy the discoveries and names of the scientists and what it does is “dayar-e-ishq…”. So finally I thought I will recall the entire poem for  once and put my brain  to rest. While I was doing so I was struck by an idea k lets write my own interpretation of the poem and tadaa here comes the post. So that is the opening line  from the poem Javed Ke Naam by Dr. Iqbal. It was his reply to his son,Javed Iqbal, when he received his first letter from him while he (Dr.Iqbal) was in London. Dr.Iqbal is myy most fav poet, even though most of his poetry go bouncers over my head, I love reading again n again and try  hard to understand it 🙂 And this is my first shot and my knowledge is very limited so excuse me. Different people will interpret the same verse in different ways, so my interpretation may be different from yours, so kindly don’t bombard me with your views…write your views politely in the comment box. Thank you 🙂

So here we goooo ” Dayar-e-ishq mein apna maqam paida kar
                              Naya zamana,nayi subah-o-shaam paida kar”

My meaning: Create your own status or place in the field that you love, here ishq is not “ishq-ishq” but the ishq is your passion towards something. Create your own era, days and nights. As in, I think, be sooo good at whatever you do that people will remember you  even after you are gone. Like now how we say “Mughal’s era, nizam’s era” etc etc.
                     
                         “Khuda agar dil-e-fitrat shahnas de tujhko
                          sakoot-e-laalah-o-gul se kalaam paida kar”

Literal meaining is  that if God gives you the heart that understands the nature then from the silence of tulips and roses create your poetry. What I understood from this is, if you’ve the ability of speech and power then be te voice of the people who remain unheard or are ignored.
     
                          “Utha na sheesha giran -e-firang ka ehsaan
                           sifaal-e-hind se mina-o-jaam paida kar”

Not sure about this. Sheesha is glass/mirror, giran is one who breaks it, firang is the firanggi gorey 😛 that is britishers, So here, Dr. Iqbal advises his son to not to be dependent on the firangi but create your cup and drink from the Indian soil. Hmmm matlab, do not depend on others to give opportunities but create one for yourself.

                         “Mein shaak-e-taak hoon, meri ghazal hai meri samar
                          mere samar se mai-e-laala faam paida kar”

This went totally bouncer on me *boinkkkk* So i’ll let you know how others interpreted it “My songs are the grapes on the spray of my vine; Distil from their clusters the poppy-red wine!”
                       
                           “Meri tareeq ameeri nai faqeeri hai    
                            Khudi na bech ghareebi mein naam paida kar”

My pursuit is not wealth but faqeeri it can be either like he is contented with whatever he has or he is contented with the closeness of God (coz faqeeri  in sufism means closeness to Allah). I dont require the worldly wealth I’m happy with whatever I have or I’m happy with being close to God.
Don’t sell yourself to get what you desire but fight for it with whatever you have. Matlab, if you really want something do not sell yourself that is do not stoop too low to get it, if u really desire it fight for it. 🙂

As I already said before, your views might clash with mine so please be kind enough to not to bombard me with your views, and be polite enough to correct me if I’m wrong. Jazak’Allah 🙂

                                         

5 thoughts on “Javed Ke Naam

  1. I had been looking for the meaning of “Dayar-e-Ishq” for some days now. Kept thinking if it had something to do with Ishq-e-Haqiqi as much of Iqbal's poetry is hinted at developing stronger ties with God. Love God to an extent that you outrun others who may be competing to love Him just the same way. However, upon reading your interpretation of it, I think it makes more sense and is probably what Iqbal was hinting towards keeping in mind the second stanza of this verse.

    Irrespective of what the real meaning may be, I'm at a stage in my life where for me Dayar-e-Ishq is the approval of God in everything I do. For once you gain recognition (maqaam) in the eyes of Allah, you automatically end up achieving success in whatever it is that your heart once desired and the destiny you were once running after comes lands at your feet.

    Wallahu Alam.

  2. Here Dr. Iqbal advises to do whatever you love with passion and leave no leaf unturned and that means Ihsan, perfection and God loves Ihsan.
    So yes in a way its all about Ishq-e-Haqiqi. When you do it for God, you want to make it through either way, no matter how difficult it is. You try everything you can. And when you strive so hard, you'll get through it coz it was all for God's sake. He never lets you down. 🙂
    Thank you for dropping by.

  3. O Writer! You have done a marvelous job here! I loved your interpretation and I don't think I could have come with something better. I especially loved those of this: “Khuda agar dil-e-fitrat shahnas de tujhko
    sakoot-e-laalah-o-gul se kalaam paida kar”
    Iqbal's poetry is fantastic and has so many hidden meanings, you see every poem can be discussed in a multitude of ways, I wonder if Iqbal gets hairaan of his interpreters too 😛
    At school, our teacher used to concentrate so much on Iqbal's poetry. (perhaps because she had graduated in it) Its true that his poetry holds the meaning of LIFE. One really needs to read thoroughly and with the eyes and mind of a SEEKER.
    Well done for your post. and Keep it up! 🙂
    And much love,
    Maria.

  4. Thank you…glad that you liked it. 🙂
    I know right, his poetry has so many different shades, someone comes up with some interpretation, that seems correct and then someone else provides you a different explanation and that seems right as well. :$
    Wow thats a cool subject for graduation. Really. 😀

    I totally agree with you about his poetry.
    Thank you once again, for coming back 🙂

Leave a Reply

